OHL approves Mississauga Steelheads move to Brampton

Photo Credits: OHL Website

The Ontario Hockey League announced today that the OHL Board of Governors has approved the relocation of the Mississauga Steelheads to Brampton for the 2024-25 season.

The CAA Centre, formally known as the Powerade Centre, will be the club’s new home under the team name Brampton Steelheads.

OHL hockey leaves Mississauga after 26 years in the city. Mississauga underwent three name changes: the Mississauga Icedogs from 1998-2007, the Mississauga St. Michaels Majors from 2007-2012, and the Mississauga Steelheads from 2012-2024.

The Steelheads had successful seasons in Mississauga, winning the Eastern Conference Championship in 2017. They have developed current NHL players in Owen Tippet, Nic Hague, Thomas Harley, and Ryan McLeod, to name a few. Mississauga also had developed players through the IceDogs and Majors systems, such as Jason Spezza, Alex Pietrangelo, Dylan DeMelo, and Casey Cizikas.

In an enthusiastic statement, the Steelheads’ ownership expressed their excitement about the team’s future in Brampton. They said, “We are thrilled about the next chapter in Steelheads hockey! We will be proud to bring our Championship hockey to our new home and even more proud to do so as the Brampton Steelheads.”

This season will be the first time since 2013 that OHL has been played in Brampton since the Brampton Battalion relocated to North Bay.

Steelheads fans will have much to look forward to this season as Porter Martone, Luke Misa, and Ryerson Leenders will look to lead the Steelheads to success in their first season in Brampton.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related to

Most Populer

Latest Updates